Toggle Contrast

The Journey of a Making Me Child

Feelings Flower:

The Making Me Emotional Literacy Programme starts with the Feelings Flower.  Each class has a set of A3 flower pictures – the Feelings Flowers – which represent one of five different feelings. Every morning, each child places their picture caterpillar on whichever Feeling Flower best represents how they are feeling. The Feelings Flowers are an emotional barometer which highlight to the class teacher the emotional wellbeing of each child in the class and helps to promote a positive, nurturing relationship between the child and their teacher.

Caterpillar Club:

At the same time that schools are introducing the Feelings Flowers, KIPSY the Caterpillar is introduced to the children through a weekly video or story. The different versions of the storybook are written to reflect the different levels of understanding, with versions available from Nursery through to Year 4.  The stories introduce a range of different feelings and, through them, the children are encouraged to discuss their own experience of each feeling and to reflect on the value and practise of being calm through a short mindfulness exercise.

Shield of Resilience:

The final stage of the Making Me journey is the Shield of Resilience workshop which is delivered to all children in years 3 – 6 by a member of the Making Me workshop team. In this upbeat and fun workshop, children are encouraged to acknowledge their strengths and weaknesses and to recognise that it is OK to be themselves.  They learn the value of practising resilience – letting things that bother us ‘bounce off’ and ‘keeping going’ when we find things tricky. Schools are encouraged to build on these skills by noticing children who show resilience throughout the school day and awarding resilience certificates or stickers as appropriate.